May 25, 2014 – Elite

_I5A9542

Barefoot she walks along the sidewalk. Looking for a place to stop after so many miles walked. She waits for her right moment to come. She knows it is close. All she needs to understand is that the moment the pain is gone, the game is on.

Dear father,

Remember those days when I sat on your lap, and you gave some of your breakfast. I used to hate the eggs cooked like that, but I only liked them when I ate them with you. Remember when you came home from a trip, you ran to give me the warmest hug, always. I know I always asked you for a toy but I was just a child, I did not know what I was doing. It also comes to my memory when you cut my piece of beef because you didn’t want me to burn myself with the very hot plate at that restaurant far away from home. I remember when you used to work out in out gym at home, and the way you stretched in the mornings. When you grabbed my nose saying “Mis ñatas” – translating to “My little nose” to show me affection. These are some of the few wonderful memories I have of you before you left.

After many years passed and going through so many hardships, things to forgive and feelings to let go, I can speak to you again and tell you how much I love you. Eat the food I liked so much, look at you in the eye and see you smile while you tell me a joke. You are finally becoming part of my life as I always dreamed, and I can feel like I am part of yours. I get to hear your stories of many adventures and near death experiences, learn from them and teach you about my ways of life. I now get to share with you who I am and who I want to become. I can now see your strength in life and your love for your children. I admire your will and courage to continue fighting. Mistakes were made but with out them, we would not be who we are today. We would not be together sharing our beautiful moments again.

I like how I can sleep with you at night, like I used to when you and mom where together, only 15 years later without her. I am still your child and as you look out for me, I do the same for you too. You are not so young anymore and you are my father, a love of my life.

I hope you are well.

With love,

Your dearest child

 

Leave a Reply

