January 1, 2014 – Resolution

_I5A8167
Lakefront Park
Kissimmee, FL
January, 2014
_I5A8229
Kissimmee, FL
January, 2014
_I5A8233
Kissimmee, FL
January, 2014
_I5A8181
Lakefront Park
Kissimmee, FL
January, 2014

Happy New Year!

The day was cold and cloudy, I was at home laying down on the sofa, I was thinking about what I would do with my life next. I started thinking about last year and all the learning experiences I got. When I realized that I think too much about what I want to do, where I would like to go, about the weather, if I should take a shower, eat a fruit, get up and change my everyday routine. It suddenly came to me, I had to do something immediately I didn’t want to spend the rest of my year thinking, I wanted to do instead. I decided to take some photos, the weather was rainy and foggy, it was perfect.

I grabbed my cameras, a notebook and a couple of pens, said goodbye to my mother and left home to my new adventure, the unknown. Since it was new years day I decided to write some goals for this new year with my boyfriend. We went to this new park in Kissimmee sat down and started thinking about what we wanted to accomplish on this new year. I then photographed around the park during my favorite time, right after sunset, when everything looks blue and eery.

We though of going to the movies afterwards to watch the movie called The Secret Life of Walter MittyDuring the movie, there is a part where Ben Stiller (Walter in the movie) is checking a contact print of a Sean O’Connor a photographer that wanted to publish the last LIFE Magazine cover photo. When I realized that, that contact print in the movie, I had printed it while I worked in a darkroom in  NYC in May. In addition to that I realized I had even processed the film they used. It came back to my memory that when I was in the studio working, my supervisor Brian Young had asked me to process a roll of black and white film and make the contact print that was going to be used for a movie that was coming out soon. He had mentioned that me movie was with Ben Stiller and I remember the name being very long. After my realization I felt so lucky, plus, the movie was super inspirational. I was so glad I had put my energy into that movie, even if it was diminute. It made me so proud of what I had done and maybe I would like to work for the entertainment industry? Who knows we will see.

Thank you for your time, have a great day!

2 thoughts on “January 1, 2014 – Resolution

  1. Karen, are you still traveling the world? I’m sure lots of people would be interested in knowing the location of your images so could you please annotate your work?  Yours, Bob

Leave a Reply

